Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

Writing, fantasy, craft, sharing, chatting. It's all about books!

Writing update

Leave a comment

I’m writing; it’s exhilarating and exhausting! Still working on the first few scenes, I don’t seem to have found my stride. My house is for sale, and that is a distraction. And, I’m making progress.

It seems to me, that the more I read on the craft of writing, (current book, Wired for Story by Lisa Cron) the slower I write. I focus on what I’m writing, more than how many words I’m writing. I like that.

I believe I’m fortunate; I don’t have a deadline and I can use this book to experiment. Experiment with tone, language, description (or lack thereof), dialogue, and all the rest.

I ask myself, “Why am I doing this?” I return to the same answer: I feel good when I write. I get excited, fired up, and animated. I feel a different kind of creativity, I feel vibrant, alive, frustrated,  and tired. In a good way!

Sound hokey? Perhaps. I’m under no illusion – though, I love the storyline of this ms, it will inevitably sit on a shelf to collect dust, but perhaps, it will calve a new and wondrous story for me to tell. As long as writing makes my life rich and meaningful, I’ll continue to strive to place words in an order that are pleasing to me – and hopefully, one day, – to others.

I’ve added a page with my current go-to books on writing. Perhaps there will be an unfamiliar title and you’ll feel inspired to read it!

How is your writing progressing?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

