Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

Writing, fantasy, craft, sharing, chatting. It's all about books!

Fixated on science and a trilogy I’ve just finished reading.

Leave a comment

I got a bit side-tracked yesterday when I decided to rewrite a scene in first person pov. Though, an interesting and educational exercise, I’ve decided to keep writing in third person pov, at least in this draft.

That being said, I still seem to be slightly left-field and am fixating on science-related things, and on the trilogy that I just finished reading.

Robert J. Sawyer wrote, and won awards for, http://www.wake, http://www.watch and http://www.wonder. They are wonderful books filled with science, technology and are beautifully written. Wired for Story”, by Lisa Cron, clearly states on the book cover, “The Writer’s Guide to Using Brain Science to Hook Readers from the Very First Sentence.” It’s like I’ve been quadruple-zapped; hence, my obsession with science at the moment.

I think as fantasy writers we can glean some nifty ideas from science. Whether it’s photos from the Hubble Telescope, deep sea photos, macro photography, lunar photography, advances (or not) in medicine, vitamins or whatever else tickles your fancy – fantasy can flip us from the mundane into an imaginative world where just about anything is possible. Sure, there are rules to magic, but for the most part, whatever we can envision is possible. That’s why I love this genre.

I know you’re reading this blog, and I’d like to know whether you write in first person, or third, or … and, I’d also like to know your thoughts on magic and anything else fantastical.

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

