Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

The journey of writing, craft, and of connection.

Friday: Musing on the craft of writing & writing

Leave a comment

Those of you who have been following my posts know that I’ve been taking an online Scrivener workshop for the past two weeks. (Two weeks to go.) Though exciting, informative and useful, what has happened is that I’ve allowed myself to be sidetracked.

I think that’s what this post is about – getting sidetracked. With a plethora of fabulous blogs to read, facebook, Twitter, and books galore (I’ve read six fiction novels this month and I’m about 2/3 through Wired for Story); you can tell I’m easily led astray.

What I’m noticing are the consistent pieces of wisdom from all quarters. And, I’m not going to be repetitive and list them all here. Well, maybe I will: Concept, Character, Theme, Structure, Scene, Writing Voice. Other writers will add little spins, but the advice is pretty consistent right across the board. The terminology is all that’s different.

Let’s face it … I’m sitting here typing this, rather than working on my wip. With all this reading I’ve stalled and I’m not happy about that.

So, a new focus, a new challenge. I have two clear days ahead and I fully intend to write. Then, next week when life encroaches once again, I will slate at least an hour a day to writing.

Will you join my challenge? Do you get sidetracked, and if so, what do you do to rein yourself in?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

