Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

Writing, fantasy, craft, sharing, chatting. It's all about books!

Short stories, poetry, and essays

Leave a comment

On September 18th I posted a you tube interview with Ray Bradbury. I followed his suggestion: write a short story per week, and read a short story, poem, and essay each day.

It’s been an interesting and challenging week. No problem reading the story and the essay, but the poetry – that’s a different matter.

Poetry is a challenge for me. If I’m completely honest, what turned me off poetry was a junior high school English teacher who, when I couldn’t explain what the poem was about, screeched at me, “It’s about death, silly girl – the poet is talking about death!”

Needless to say, I developed a bit of a mental block around poetry. Until now, and this interests me. Six books  will arrive soon from my public library; three of which are books on poetry. A friend loaned me a book of poems. 101 poems written by a variety of poets. I am surprised and pleased to notice I enjoying reading them. Though the meaning in some seems vague to me, in others, I find them quite lovely.

My relationship with poetry has changed, and I’m sure some poets will shine through and become favourites as I exercise this new reading muscle.

I’m curious. Do you enjoy reading poetry? Who are your favourites? The old masters, or more modern poets?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

