Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

Writing, fantasy, craft, sharing, chatting. It's all about books!

Photos. A thousand words, or not?

Leave a comment

I’ve mulled over why I post a photo every Wednesday morning, and here is my logic. I believe we are visual creatures.

How delightful! I heard a chorus of, “Well, duh.”

The infinite “go-to” source, Wikipedia states:

“The adage[citation needed]A picture is worth a thousand words” refers to the notion that a complex idea can be conveyed with just a single still image. It also aptly characterizes one of the main goals of visualization, namely making it possible to absorb large amounts of data quickly.”

I say, “true enough.” But, I think at best, we glance at photos.

We might be taken with a photo. Revel in its beauty for a moment. “Ooh” and “ah”  – but do we follow the photo, become caught up in the colour, line, visual texture, or imagery, imaginatively disappear like we would into a fine painting?

I post the photos because I strive to find words to describe what I’m seeing, and I flounder! A thousand words – on a picture! Our writing is visual imagery. I challenge myself to write what I see.

Can you write a thousand words about a picture?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

