Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

The journey of writing, craft, and of connection.

Writing Update

Leave a comment

My main WIP is hunkered down in the corner, sulking. I’m ignoring it. The short story though, is an interesting learning exercise.

A friend (also working on a short), and I are emailing back and forth. Here is some of what came out of those emails:

“Regarding the characters, you have a very short time to make them sing.” I created three: the protagonist, the antagonist, and a secondary character. The challenge is to define them, and to punch up the conflict for my main character.

“Tuck in as many descriptives about the fantasy world that you can, with as specific of language as possible.” What makes that world different from this one? For the story to be interesting, the fantasy world must be exceptional. This question never changes. Again, say a lot with a few words.

“When you’re writing the action scenes – find ways to break those into concise, simple sentences. Make the complex sentences count for richness and depth. The short sentences will give you hard, fast beats which will drive the action forward.”

“Is the hero(ine) using a light or a dark voice?” I notice my initial draft doesn’t pack much punch. I know with each rewrite, I add more depth, colour, and I become braver.

In the end, I say what I wanted to from the start – just took a while to spit out.

On some days I ask myself, “Why am I doing this?” I answer, “Because it’s fun, frustrating, and gives me tremendous pleasure.”

How is your work in progress coming along?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

