Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

Writing, fantasy, craft, sharing, chatting. It's all about books!

Writing Update, Reading, Blogging, Tweeting, Pinteresting…

Leave a comment

This past week I’ve worked on my short story. Completed, it was 3,800 words. Now, I’m in the process of condensing the piece to 1,500 words. I enjoy the challenge.

I also see how I distract myself with social media.

My fascination with social media peaked mid August – when this blog hit the waves. I began to work less on my wip, then stopped completely while I focused on how and what to post each week. (How’s that for a handy excuse?)

facebook, Pinterest, blogs, Tweets, and more. All take time and are huge distractions. I signed up for Pinterest but went no further. The thought of all those photos … drool …

And, Twitter. I post a few Tweets, but some people are prolific tweeters. Do they have minions to Tweet for them?

I tend to write for a while. Pause. Check facebook. Check Twitter. Go back to writing. This scenario repeats itself. I want to re-frame my working style.  Check facebook and Twitter less. Bad habits are hard to break though!

Question: How do you fit social media into your world?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

