Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

The journey of writing, craft, and of connection.

Writing update

Leave a comment

I’ve been plugging away at the short story in an attempt to whittle it down to 1500 words. Presently at 1742.

What a fascinating and frustrating exercise.

My brain is weary. Like working on a logic puzzle.

I gnaw away at the story. Paragraph by paragraph I edit words, then start the process again.

I decided it reads more like a chapter in a book than a short story.

So, in good editing fashion, I went back to the original and chopped the first two-thirds of the story. How many times do we read, “It will be painful but, throw the first chapter or two away.”

Now, I am left with 1250 words. Words with way more juice in them.

If only I’d done that days ago!

How many of you write short stories?  Whether short story or novel; how goes your work in progress?

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

Leave a Reply

