Brin Jackson, Fantasy writer & daydreamer

The journey of writing, craft, and of connection.

4 Comments

Another extraordinary post by my friend, Vaughn Roycroft.

Vaughn Roycroft's Blog

The Present, by Thomas Cole (1838)Ignorasphere: Know where it is? Trust me, if you’re trying to give life to a story, it’s not a good place to dwell. Your story won’t be able to breathe well there.

Very early in the process of outlining the story for my historical fantasy trilogy, I ran into a problem. I tried to ignore it, but turns out I couldn’t. I set out to write a story about a young man struggling to cope with his destiny, and a young warrior-woman assigned to be his guardian. But I kept tripping over the fact that his destiny, and the reasons for her assignation, were rooted in what had already happened. They were a product of their world, and its past. I kept telling myself it was simple stuff, which had to do with his father. I wanted to simply move ahead with the story, so I wrote side-notes like: “His…

View original post 1,272 more words

Author: brindle808

I'm old enough to know better, and young enough to want to learn. I am a reflexologist, fantasy writer and daydreamer.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Thanks for sharing, Brin! Have a wonderful day. 🙂

  2. Very good information. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I have book marked it for later!

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  4. Hi Karen. Thanks for dropping by and your kind words. I’m glad you find the site helpful.

Leave a Reply

